Main site nadinmacht.deDeutsch

Creality CR-Scan Raptor vs. Einstar 2

Both 3D scanners compared directly. The higher accuracy according to the manufacturer (best values under laboratory conditions) is marked in green.

The key differences

  • The Creality CR-Scan Raptor is in a cheaper price class (€600 to €1,200) than the Einstar 2 (€1,200 to €3,000).
  • There is no manufacturer figure for the accuracy of the Einstar 2.
  • The Einstar 2 has the longer working distance (up to 1,400 mm instead of 1,000 mm), which makes it better suited to large objects.
Creality CR-Scan RaptorEinstar 2
Price range€600 to €1,200€1,200 to €3,000
PriceManufacturer's shop: €1,199; Bundle with Scan Bridge €1,499 (As of 26 Oct 2026)Manufacturer's shop: €1,079; with Accessories Pro Kit €1,914 (As of 26 Oct 2026)
TechnologyBlue laser light (7 parallel lines) + near-infrared structured light (NIR)Two modes: Laser HD with 17 parallel blue laser lines and IR Rapid with infrared VCSEL
Accuracy (according to the manufacturer)up to 0.02 mm at 100 mm (laser), up to 0.1 mm (NIR)not specified by the manufacturer
Resolution / point distance0.02 to 2 mm (laser), 0.1 to 2 mm (NIR)Laser HD 0.05 to 10 mm, IR Rapid 0.2 to 10 mm
Speedup to 60 fps (laser), up to 20 fps (NIR)Laser HD up to 2,500,000 points/s, IR Rapid up to 4,800,000 points/s; up to 70 fps according to press release
Working distance150 to 400 mm (laser), 170 to 1,000 mm (NIR)Laser HD 100 to 600 mm, IR Rapid 160 to 1,400 mm
Capture area (single frame)not specified by the manufacturermax. 490 x 580 mm (Laser HD), max. 1,170 x 1,385 mm (IR Rapid)
Object sizeMinimum volume 5 x 5 x 5 mm (laser) or 150 x 150 x 150 mm (NIR), up to 2,000 x 2,000 x 2,000 mmapprox. 5 mm to 10 m; minimum scan volume 10 x 10 x 10 mm (Laser HD) or 50 x 50 x 50 mm (IR Rapid)
TrackingMarkers (laser); markers, geometry, texture (NIR); IMULaser HD: global markers; IR Rapid: markers, geometry (features), texture, hybrid
Colour/textureyes (Color Mapping, 12 white LEDs; 3D camera 1,920 x 1,200; camera with 2.3 MP according to the manual) ◇ Creality-Handbuch via Alzayes (texture camera 2.3 MP)
ConnectivityUSB-C (USB 3.0) on the PC, power supply 12 V / 2 A; Creality Scan Bridge as separate accessory (€381.65 in the EU shop)Wi-Fi (built-in) or USB-C on the PC; battery operation (5,500 mAh, up to 3 hours)
Usable without a PCno, PC or smartphone requiredno, PC or smartphone required
SoftwareCreality Scan from version 3.1.6 (Windows 10/11 64-bit, macOS from 11.7.7) ◇ Creality-Handbuch via AlzaEXStar Hub (Windows, macOS)
PC requirementsWindows 10/11 64-bit, recommended Intel i7 from 7th gen., Nvidia or AMD graphics card with 6 GB VRAM, from 16 GB RAM; macOS from 11.7.7 with Apple M1/M2/M3, from 16 GB RAM ◇ Creality-Handbuch via AlzaWindows 11 22H2 (64-bit), Intel Core i7-13700H or better, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 Laptop GPU with at least 6 GB VRAM, at least 32 GB DDR5 dual-channel (64 GB recommended), USB 3.0; macOS Tahoe 26.2, at least MacBook Pro M1 or MacBook M3, at least 16 GB RAM (recommended MacBook Pro M3 Max/Ultra or newer, 24 GB RAM)
Scope of deliverynot specified by the manufacturerScanners, Carry case, Calibration board, Holder for calibration board, Power adapter, Battery, Battery compartment, Charging cable for battery compartment, USB-C cable (scanner and battery compartment), Markers 3 mm and 6 mm, Packing list
Dimensions215 × 50 × 74 mm130 × 61 × 37 mm
Weight372 g420 g
Market launchApril 2024October 2025

Who is which one suitable for?

Creality CR-Scan Raptor

Makers who need precise laser scans of small technical parts and work with markers on a PC.

  • Blue laser with up to 0.02 mm accuracy
  • Two modes: laser for small details from 5 mm, NIR for objects up to 2 m
View price*

Einstar 2

Makers who want to scan small parts with the laser and large objects or people with infrared using one wireless device and who have a powerful PC.

  • Laser and infrared in one device: working distance from 100 mm to 1,400 mm
  • Wireless via Wi-Fi with swappable battery (up to 3 hours)
View price*
Facts, not a buying recommendation. This page summarises manufacturer specifications and our assessment. If we recommend a device, it is explicitly marked “Our recommendation”. Figures marked ◇ do not come from the manufacturer; the source is linked. How we work

Choose another device to compare