Main site nadinmacht.deDeutsch

Einstar 2 vs. Einstar VEGA

Both 3D scanners compared directly. The higher accuracy according to the manufacturer (best values under laboratory conditions) is marked in green.

The key differences

  • Both are in the same price class, but the Einstar 2 is cheaper (from €1,079 instead of from €1,919).
  • Technology: the Einstar 2 has a laser mode (Blue laser + infrared), the Einstar VEGA works without a laser (Infrared). Laser usually captures fine detail and shiny parts better, while infrared and structured light are well suited to people and large objects.
  • Only the Einstar VEGA can be used entirely without a PC or smartphone.
Einstar 2Einstar VEGA
Price range€1,200 to €3,000€1,200 to €3,000
PriceManufacturer's shop: €1,079; with Accessories Pro Kit €1,914 (As of 26 Oct 2026)Manufacturer's shop: €1,919 (As of 26 Oct 2026)
TechnologyTwo modes: Laser HD with 17 parallel blue laser lines and IR Rapid with infrared VCSELInfrared structured light with two modes: HD mode with MEMS projector, Fast mode with VCSEL projector
Accuracy (according to the manufacturer)not specified by the manufacturernot specified by the manufacturer
Resolution / point distanceLaser HD 0.05 to 10 mm, IR Rapid 0.2 to 10 mmHD mode 0.05 to 3 mm, fast mode 0.5 to 10 mm
SpeedLaser HD up to 2,500,000 points/s, IR Rapid up to 4,800,000 points/s; up to 70 fps according to press releaseHD mode up to 15 fps, Fast mode up to 20 fps
Working distanceLaser HD 100 to 600 mm, IR Rapid 160 to 1,400 mmHD mode 100 to 350 mm, fast mode 270 to 1,500 mm
Capture area (single frame)max. 490 x 580 mm (Laser HD), max. 1,170 x 1,385 mm (IR Rapid)not specified by the manufacturer
Object sizeapprox. 5 mm to 10 m; minimum scan volume 10 x 10 x 10 mm (Laser HD) or 50 x 50 x 50 mm (IR Rapid)small to large objects (no dimensions stated)
TrackingLaser HD: global markers; IR Rapid: markers, geometry (features), texture, hybridFeatures (geometry), texture, markers, hybrid
Colour/textureyes (texture camera 2.3 MP)yes (48 MP colour camera)
ConnectivityWi-Fi (built-in) or USB-C on the PC; battery operation (5,500 mAh, up to 3 hours)standalone with 6.4-inch OLED touchscreen; Wi-Fi 6, USB-C; wireless transfer to a second screen
Usable without a PCno, PC or smartphone requiredyes (see connectivity)
SoftwareEXStar Hub (Windows, macOS)Onboard software on the device; StarVision (Windows, macOS) for post-processing on a PC
PC requirementsWindows 11 22H2 (64-bit), Intel Core i7-13700H or better, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 Laptop GPU with at least 6 GB VRAM, at least 32 GB DDR5 dual-channel (64 GB recommended), USB 3.0; macOS Tahoe 26.2, at least MacBook Pro M1 or MacBook M3, at least 16 GB RAM (recommended MacBook Pro M3 Max/Ultra or newer, 24 GB RAM)For StarVision: Windows 10/11 (64-bit) or macOS; recommended Intel i7 and 32 GB RAM, or macOS 11.0 or later with Apple chip. No PC is needed for scanning itself.
Scope of deliveryScanners, Carry case, Calibration board, Holder for calibration board, Power adapter, Battery, Battery compartment, Charging cable for battery compartment, USB-C cable (scanner and battery compartment), Markers 3 mm and 6 mm, Packing listScanners, Carry case, Calibration board, Holder, Power adapter, Cable, Screw for hand strap, Markers 3 mm and 6 mm, SHINING mascot, Packing list
Dimensions130 × 61 × 37 mm180 × 95 × 26.5 mm
Weight420 g535 g
Market launchOctober 2025September 2024 (announced on 14.09.2024)

Who is which one suitable for?

Einstar 2

Makers who want to scan small parts with the laser and large objects or people with infrared using one wireless device and who have a powerful PC.

  • Laser and infrared in one device: working distance from 100 mm to 1,400 mm
  • Wireless via Wi-Fi with swappable battery (up to 3 hours)
View price*

Einstar VEGA

Users who want to scan on the move without a laptop, for example people, furniture or vehicle parts on site, and have a higher budget for it.

  • Scanning without a PC: own 6.4-inch touchscreen, 8-core processor, 32 GB RAM and 512 GB SSD
  • Colour camera with 48 MP
View price*
Facts, not a buying recommendation. This page summarises manufacturer specifications and our assessment. If we recommend a device, it is explicitly marked “Our recommendation”. Figures marked ◇ do not come from the manufacturer; the source is linked. How we work

Choose another device to compare