Creality CR-Scan Otter vs. Revopoint POP 4
Both 3D scanners compared directly. The higher accuracy according to the manufacturer (best values under laboratory conditions) is marked in green.
The key differences
- Both are in the same price class, but the Revopoint POP 4 is cheaper (from €750 instead of from €969).
- Technology: the Revopoint POP 4 has a laser mode (Blue laser + infrared), the Creality CR-Scan Otter works without a laser (Near infrared). Laser usually captures fine detail and shiny parts better, while infrared and structured light are well suited to people and large objects.
- According to the manufacturer, the Creality CR-Scan Otter is more accurate (up to 0.02 mm instead of 0.03 mm). These are best-case values under laboratory conditions.
- The Revopoint POP 4 is considerably lighter (286 g).
| Creality CR-Scan Otter | Revopoint POP 4 | |
|---|---|---|
| Price range | €600 to €1,200 | €600 to €1,200 |
| Price | Manufacturer's shop: €969, Scanner only; Bundle with Scan Bridge and Scan Bridge cable €1,199; 3DJake.de likewise €969 incl. VAT, in stock (As of 26 Oct 2026) | Manufacturer's shop: €750 (was €833), Standard Edition; Premium Edition €821 (was €966) (As of 26 Oct 2026) |
| Technology | Near-infrared binocular structured light with four-lens stereo vision (near and far mode) | Blue multi-line laser (30 cross lines, 1 line for deep holes) + near-infrared full-field structured light + infrared VCSEL structured light |
| Accuracy (according to the manufacturer) | up to 0.02 mm at 60 mm (laboratory conditions, 100 mm ball pair); volumetric not specified by the manufacturer | up to 0.03 mm (single capture, laser); 0.08 mm (full-field); VCSEL 0.1 mm (300 to 500 mm) or 0.2 mm (500 to 800 mm); volumetric 0.03 mm + 0.05 mm x L (m) |
| Resolution / point distance | 0.05 to 2 mm | up to 0.05 mm (fused) |
| Speed | up to 30 fps (according to comparison table on creality.com); differing up to 20 fps ◇ 3DJake | Laser up to 105 fps (NVIDIA GPU) or 60 fps (CPU), 2,000,000 points/s; full-field 20 fps, 5,000,000 points/s; VCSEL 30 fps |
| Working distance | 110 to 1,000 mm | 200 to 400 mm (laser); 250 to 500 mm (full-field/hybrid); 300 to 800 mm (VCSEL) |
| Capture area (single frame) | Close mode: 100 x 62 mm at 120 mm to 160 x 130 mm at 250 mm; far mode: 358 x 254 mm at 300 mm, 784 x 509 mm at 600 mm, 1,350 x 840 mm at 1,000 mm | 131 x 134 mm (at 200 mm) to 312 x 269 mm (at 400 mm); VCSEL 505 x 538 mm (at 800 mm); field of view 46 x 37° |
| Object size | Minimum scan volume 10 x 10 x 10 mm; according to the manual from small screws to people and large car parts (stated as 10 mm³ to 2,000 mm³) ◇ Creality-Handbuch via Alza | 10 x 10 x 10 mm to 2 x 2 x 2 m (small to medium) |
| Tracking | Geometry, markers, texture; IMU ◇ Creality-Handbuch via Alza | Geometry, markers, global markers, texture (colour) |
| Colour/texture | yes, 24-bit colour ◇ 3DJake; colour camera resolution: not specified by the manufacturer | yes (RGB camera 1.3 MP) |
| Connectivity | USB-C on PC, 5 V, 3 A ◇ 3DJake; wireless only with separate accessories (Creality Scan Bridge and Scan Bridge cable) | USB-C (USB 3.0) on PC; Wi-Fi (Wi-Fi 6); Bluetooth 4.1; smartphone (full-field and VCSEL directly, laser mode only with PC via Wi-Fi) |
| Usable without a PC | no, PC or smartphone required | no, PC or smartphone required |
| Software | CrealityScan (Windows, macOS) | Revo Scan 6 (Windows 10/11, macOS from 11, Android; iOS announced), Revo Mirror; optional Revo Design, Revo Measure |
| PC requirements | Windows 10/11 64-bit, recommended Intel i7 from 7th gen., Nvidia or AMD graphics card, from 16 GB RAM, minimum Intel i5 from 8th gen., from 8 GB RAM; macOS recommended from 11.7.7 with Apple M1/M2/M3 and from 16 GB RAM, minimum from 10.15.7 with Intel i5 from 8th gen. and from 8 GB RAM; Creality Scan from version 3.1.6 ◇ Creality-Handbuch via Alza | Minimum: Windows with Intel i7 13th gen or AMD Ryzen 7 5800, 16 GB RAM or more, NVIDIA RTX 3060 (8 GB); macOS with M1 Pro/Max/Ultra, 16 GB RAM or more. Smartphone: Android with Snapdragon 8 Gen 1 or similar, 12 GB RAM, Android 11+; iPhone from iPhone X, iOS 14+ |
| Scope of delivery | not specified by the manufacturer | POP 4 scanner, USB-C to USB-C cable (2 m), Tripod, 200 markers, Mini turntable, Calibration board, Premium only: carry case, battery grip (5,500 mAh, approx. 4 h) with charging cable, magnetic outdoor blue filters, 300 markers |
| Dimensions | 165 × 37 × 59 mm | 160 × 30 × 72 mm |
| Weight | 390 g | 286 g |
| Market launch | not specified by the manufacturer | May 2026 (Kickstarter launch); according to a press release from Revopoint Japan generally available in the official shop (Japan) since 22.06.2026 at the latest |
Who is which one suitable for?
Creality CR-Scan Otter
Makers who want to scan everything from small figures to large objects on a PC with an infrared scanner.
- Up to 0.02 mm accuracy at close range without laser
- Large working range of 110 to 1,000 mm with near and far mode
Revopoint POP 4
Makers who want a versatile device for components, people and outdoor shots and have a powerful PC.
- Three light sources in one device: laser for detail, infrared for people and larger objects
- According to the manufacturer, scanning up to 50,000 lux, up to 100,000 lux with outdoor filter
Facts, not a buying recommendation. This page summarises manufacturer specifications and our assessment. If we recommend a device, it is explicitly marked “Our recommendation”. Figures marked ◇ do not come from the manufacturer; the source is linked. How we work