Creality CR-Scan Otter vs. Creality PIKA
Both 3D scanners compared directly. The higher accuracy according to the manufacturer (best values under laboratory conditions) is marked in green.
The key differences
- Both are in the same price class, but the Creality PIKA is cheaper (from €719 instead of from €969).
- Technology: the Creality PIKA has a laser mode (Blue laser + near-infrared), the Creality CR-Scan Otter works without a laser (Near infrared). Laser usually captures fine detail and shiny parts better, while infrared and structured light are well suited to people and large objects.
- According to the manufacturer, the Creality CR-Scan Otter is more accurate (up to 0.02 mm instead of 0.03 mm). These are best-case values under laboratory conditions.
- The Creality PIKA is considerably lighter (260 g).
| Creality CR-Scan Otter | Creality PIKA | |
|---|---|---|
| Price range | €600 to €1,200 | €600 to €1,200 |
| Price | Manufacturer's shop: €969, Scanner only; Bundle with Scan Bridge and Scan Bridge cable €1,199; 3DJake.de likewise €969 incl. VAT, in stock (As of 26 Oct 2026) | Manufacturer's shop: €719 (As of 26 Oct 2026) |
| Technology | Near-infrared binocular structured light with four-lens stereo vision (near and far mode) | Blue parallel laser light (7 lines) + near-infrared structured light (NIR) |
| Accuracy (according to the manufacturer) | up to 0.02 mm at 60 mm (laboratory conditions, 100 mm ball pair); volumetric not specified by the manufacturer | up to 0.03 mm (laser), up to 0.1 mm (NIR), under laboratory conditions |
| Resolution / point distance | 0.05 to 2 mm | 0.1 to 2 mm (laser), 0.15 to 2 mm (NIR) |
| Speed | up to 30 fps (according to comparison table on creality.com); differing up to 20 fps ◇ 3DJake | on PC up to 110 fps (laser) or up to 30 fps (NIR); on smartphone up to 40 fps (laser) or up to 20 fps (NIR) |
| Working distance | 110 to 1,000 mm | 160 to 400 mm (laser), 140 to 1,000 mm (NIR) |
| Capture area (single frame) | Close mode: 100 x 62 mm at 120 mm to 160 x 130 mm at 250 mm; far mode: 358 x 254 mm at 300 mm, 784 x 509 mm at 600 mm, 1,350 x 840 mm at 1,000 mm | 101 x 107 mm at 160 mm, 144 x 134 mm at 200 mm, 344 x 268 mm at 400 mm, 764 x 670 mm at 1,000 mm |
| Object size | Minimum scan volume 10 x 10 x 10 mm; according to the manual from small screws to people and large car parts (stated as 10 mm³ to 2,000 mm³) ◇ Creality-Handbuch via Alza | 10 mm to 2,000 mm (minimum volume 10 x 10 x 10 mm laser, 150 x 150 x 150 mm NIR) |
| Tracking | Geometry, markers, texture; IMU ◇ Creality-Handbuch via Alza | Markers, global markers, markerless (markerless in laser mode only wired on a PC) |
| Colour/texture | yes, 24-bit colour ◇ 3DJake; colour camera resolution: not specified by the manufacturer | yes (colour mapping, 24-bit colour in NIR mode; camera resolution not specified by the manufacturer) |
| Connectivity | USB-C on PC, 5 V, 3 A ◇ 3DJake; wireless only with separate accessories (Creality Scan Bridge and Scan Bridge cable) | USB-C (USB 3.0) to PC; Wi-Fi 6 to PC or smartphone; capture without a PC via 3-inch touchscreen, but fusion and meshing on smartphone or PC |
| Usable without a PC | no, PC or smartphone required | no, PC or smartphone required |
| Software | CrealityScan (Windows, macOS) | CrealityScan (app for Android and iOS, PC software for Windows and macOS) |
| PC requirements | Windows 10/11 64-bit, recommended Intel i7 from 7th gen., Nvidia or AMD graphics card, from 16 GB RAM, minimum Intel i5 from 8th gen., from 8 GB RAM; macOS recommended from 11.7.7 with Apple M1/M2/M3 and from 16 GB RAM, minimum from 10.15.7 with Intel i5 from 8th gen. and from 8 GB RAM; Creality Scan from version 3.1.6 ◇ Creality-Handbuch via Alza | Windows 10/11 64-bit, Intel i7 from 7th gen., NVIDIA GPU with 8 GB VRAM, from 16 GB RAM; macOS 14 or newer, Apple M2, from 16 GB RAM; smartphone: Android 10+ with Snapdragon 8 Gen 2 and 8 GB RAM or iOS 15+ from A15 and 6 GB RAM (iOS without cable connection) |
| Scope of delivery | not specified by the manufacturer | Pika 3D scanner, Tripod, Glass calibration plate, USB 3.0 Type-C data cable 2 m, 2 batteries, Reflective markers 6 mm (10 pieces) and 3 mm (10 pieces), Marker tower (6 pieces), NIR filter (2 pieces), Turntable, Strap, Cleaning cloth, Quick start guide, declaration of conformity, warranty card |
| Dimensions | 165 × 37 × 59 mm | 100 × 60 × 35 mm |
| Weight | 390 g | 260 g |
| Market launch | not specified by the manufacturer | July 2026 (presale), delivery from August 2026 |
Who is which one suitable for?
Creality CR-Scan Otter
Makers who want to scan everything from small figures to large objects on a PC with an infrared scanner.
- Up to 0.02 mm accuracy at close range without laser
- Large working range of 110 to 1,000 mm with near and far mode
Creality PIKA
Makers looking for a compact scanner with laser and infrared mode who also want to scan on the go without a laptop.
- Two light sources: blue laser up to 0.03 mm for detail, NIR for people and large objects
- Own display, swappable battery (up to 70 minutes) and Wi-Fi 6, can be operated with a smartphone
Facts, not a buying recommendation. This page summarises manufacturer specifications and our assessment. If we recommend a device, it is explicitly marked “Our recommendation”. Figures marked ◇ do not come from the manufacturer; the source is linked. How we work